Our network

Dalia’s Bridal to Hold Month-long Benefit for Food Bank of WNY

Dalia’s Bridal to Hold Month-long Benefit for Food Bank of WNY

Dalia’s Bridal, located at 4558 Main St. in Snyder, will hold a month-long sales event in June to benefit the Food Bank of WNY.

Throughout the month of June, visitors are asked to bring a nonperishable food item to the store that will be donated to the Food Bank. During this time, Dalia’s will also host its first annual “Spring Into Summer Clearance Sale” with 30 to 85 percent off select bridal wear, and select bridal gowns starting at just $99.

“A portion of all sales during the month of June will also be donated to the Food Bank of WNY,” said the store’s owner, Dalia Nowak. “The Food Bank plays a vital role in our community, and we consider it an honor to help them continue their service and outreach.”

Community Sponsors

Are you interested in promoting your business to local customers?

Annual No Frills Buffalo Golf Tournament to Benefit Hospice Foundation

Annual No Frills Buffalo Golf Tournament to Benefit Hospice Foundation

No Frills Buffalo publishing company’s eighth annual golf outing to benefit the Hospice Foundation will take place on Friday, July 8, at Chestnut Hill Country Club, 1330 Broadway, Darien Center.

Individual golfers, foursomes and sponsors are still being sought for the annual “Come Get Some” golf tournament. Registration and lunch begin at 12:30 p.m., followed by a 1:30 p.m. shotgun start.

Registration for the event is just $80 per golfer and includes lunch, a steak dinner, beverages and 18 holes of scramble-format golf. Tickets for dinner only are available for $40. Golfers of all skill levels are welcomed to participate in the event, which has now raised approximately $19,000 for Hospice since 2009.

KIA, Ford and GM Issue Technical Service Bulletins

KIA, Ford and GM Issue Technical Service Bulletins

By Tom Torbjornsen

Some major service bulletins have crossed my desk recently ...

KIA Technical Service Bulletin

The problem: The UVO telematics system in affected vehicles exhibit a condition where the incoming ring volume of incoming calls is too loud. Additionally, the Bluetooth connectivity and voice recognition is shaky.

Vehicles affected by this service campaign:

Dog Ears Director Thanks Community for Gala Support

Dog Ears Director Thanks Community for Gala Support

Tom McDonnell, director of Dog Ear Bookstore & Café, would like to thank the South Buffalo community and beyond for supporting the nonprofit organization’s annual gala, held on April 30 at the Buffalo Irish Center.

“The entire community stepped up to help make this event — our largest annual fundraiser — a great success,” said McDonnell. “Thanks to our many volunteers and everyone who donated auction items, their time and money, we will be able to continue our community outreach and extensive literary programs.”

McDonnell would like to extend a special thank you to the 30 volunteers from RealtyUSA who worked both day and night to guarantee the success of the event, including Matthew Whitehead, manager of RealtyUSA’s West Seneca office, and his 5-year-old daughter Olivia. 

Community Sponsors

Are you interested in promoting your business to local customers?

Dog Ears to Host Returning Author Kali Quinn

Dog Ears to Host Returning Author Kali Quinn

Western New York native Kali Quinn will return to Buffalo this weekend for a reading and book-signing event from 1 to 3 p.m. Sunday, May 22, at Dog Ears Bookstore & Café, 688 Abbott Road, Buffalo.

Part memoir, part curriculum, part field guide, her book “I Am Compassionate Creativity” explores the integral relationship between compassion and creativity, especially within moments of uncertainty and when moving through deep grief. Quinn’s research stems from years of performing solo theater, teaching within universities across the country, and growing up in Buffalo.

“I didn’t want to publish a book and just put it online and in bookstores,” explains Quinn. “I wanted to reconnect with family and friends in-person and deliver my book to them in their homes. I wanted to take these stories on tour and create a movement.”

Buffalo Bites Food Tours Attract Hungry Tourists Who Crave an Authentic Experience

Buffalo Bites Food Tours Attract Hungry Tourists Who Crave an Authentic Experience

What sets Buffalo and Western New York apart from other regions as a fun and unique travel destination? According to a recent online survey of “America’s Favorite Cities,” which ranked Buffalo at the very top of its travel list, categories such as architecture, craft breweries and public parks are hugely important to today’s trendy travelers. Restaurants and food also rank high atop the wish list of these road warriors.

Author Jeff Schober to Launch Latest Crime Novel at Popular Event

Author Jeff Schober to Launch Latest Crime Novel at Popular Event

Hamburg author Jeff Schober will host a book launch for “Faces and Fingertips,” his new crime novel, from 5 to 8 p.m. on June 7 at Larkinville, 745 Seneca St., Buffalo, as part of Food Truck Tuesday.

Published by No Frills Buffalo, “Faces and Fingertips” is the third book in a crime series set in Buffalo during the 1980s. The two prior books were “Broken and Profane” (2011) and “Boneshaker” (2013).

“Faces and Fingertips” continues the story of former Buffalo detective Ken Connell as he recovers from a shooting. R.J. Sorrentino, a sketch artist who is Connell’s friend, makes a grisly discovery and approaches Connell for help.  

“My crime novels have been called fierce and compelling,” Schober said. “Faces and Fingertips will appeal to readers who like Michael Connelly or John Sandford.”